FAQ about Traditional Astrology

"Traditional" is a broad term used to identify methods of astrology that pre-date the modern era.  Astrologers began to veer from tradition in the late 1800s.  This post provides a brief introduction to the key differences between traditional and modern methods.




·       Traditional methods focus on the inner seven planets of our solar system (listed here in the Chaldean order): Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, the Sun, Venus, Mercury, and the Moon. In traditional work, the three outer planets--Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto--do not rule signs or houses but can still be important depending upon where they fall in the chart. The meanings for these three planets are derived from mythology and are not the same as their modern interpretations.

·       Planetary dignity and reception are the cornerstones of analysis.

·       Horary astrology is learned first and is preferred for most inquiries.

·       The aspects utilized are opposition (180 degrees), trine (120 degrees), square (90 degrees), and sextile (60 degrees), along with conjunction (not technically an aspect, as the two planets are side by side so cannot "glance" at each other). 

·       Aspect orbs are limited to a few degrees; wider aspects are not considered to be significant.

·       Progressions and returns are examined for specific criteria and mainly against the source chart (called the "radix").


Traditional methods reduce the subjectivity of interpretation and allow astrologers to analyze and predict events with great accuracy and insight.  To learn more about traditional astrology, read John Frawley's books.


What is horary astrology and how does it work?

In horary astrology, a querent ("one who seeks") asks a question on a topic of importance to them.  The astrologer casts a chart for the time she hears or reads the question and, using specific methods, finds the answers within the chart.  Horary requires no birth data, so it is accessible to everyone. 


I do not recommend asking questions about the big dreams you hold closely in your heart.  For more on that, please read here.  I believe that horary is best suited for the more routine, specific questions that arise in the course of daily life.  For many examples of worked horary charts, please visit my blog, The Sun's Joy, here.


How can astrology help me?

A trained astrologer can assist you in understanding the reality of things so that you can work within that reality to the best of your God-given abilities. Understanding that the universe is ordered, and accepting our earthly limits within that order, can be comforting and freeing as we move forward in life.


Is there any validity to the horoscopes I read online?

No. Most online forecasts are based solely upon Sun signs and follow a presumed natural order of signs and houses, placing Aries in the first house.  These general interpretations resonate with readers because they touch on universal themes, but that's as far as it goes.  For more on this, please read here.


Can you tell me about your logo?

The dolphin is an ancient symbol of wisdom and joy.  It is also a symbol of the Christ, a reminder of what is at the heart of things.  Artist Mandana Marefat created the logo using as inspiration the title of my blog, The Sun's Joy.  Many thanks to Mandana for her lovely design!